In His Image

Sisters sharing the journey

Meeting Mr. Right December 18, 2008

Filed under: relationships — Amy @ 23:17
Tags:

My husband and I met at Camp Tahkodah one summer and were engaged the next summer.  We met by “chance” and after a few months were convinced we wanted to live together forever.  I took a little longer to convince, but then, I was out of school and a little unsure of the college junior pursuing me.  Looking back, it was a fast and furious courtship, but in the midst of our dating, the days were inflated with their own since of importance.  Those days were so important.  Those days when I was choosing my mate.  creek

There are no guarantees, no fool proof instructions.  However, choose wisely, prayerfully, and in full submission to God.  Listen to your trusted confidants, your parents, adults whom you admire.  Take your time.  Get to know his family.  All of these things will help you make a good and wise decision.  Remember the kings of the Old Testament and their fate as they chose wives who turned their hearts from God.

For those of you who are married:

How did you meet your Mr. Right?  Were you set up by friends and an awful blind date followed or did you catch eyes for several days before cabin1agreeing to go out?  Did you meet in college or had you graduated and edged up close to the “I’ll never find someone.” stage?

For those of you who are not married:

Describe your ideal mate.  Not a list, but rambling thoughts of who you want to spend the rest of your life with.

We all have our stories and gain something each time we tell it.

Have a great day, Friends!

 

8 Responses to “Meeting Mr. Right”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I have one of those stories that sounds like it couldn’t be true. My Dad was actually the one who took my mother-in-law to the hospital when she went into labor with my husband. Really. My father-in-law was a rural mail carrier and was on his route at the time; my mother-in-law ran their little country store, and my Dad happened to stop by right after she went into labor. I’m not making this up!

    Our families were neighbors. We grew up together, went to church together, went to school together. Our families even vacationed together. So I don’t remember a time that my husband hasn’t been a part of my life. But I have to admit, I didn’t always see him the way I do now!

  2. amyadair Says:

    Wow! What a story! That is very romantic. Thanks for sharing. Did your parents always think you would end up together? Did they know you all were meant to be? That’s an amazing story!

  3. becca mcafee Says:

    aww i love hearing these stories 🙂 i’m definitely not married yet but i hope someday if i am i will have a cute story as well. my list isn’t that long, but i would want a guy that loves me unconditionally (of course), is a strong Christian that will help me grow stronger, and i have to be able to trust him…those are the main things

  4. Stephanie Says:

    It is funny. My husband always kids me and says he had no choice. If we’d get into a little argument and break up, his parents would get mad at him and not let him use the car.

    And another funny thing. When we’d break up, we’d still sit together in church just to keep from having to explain everything to everybody.

    One of the great things about how we “met” is that we truly knew each other’s values, and we both had the same concept of family and church. I can’t stress how important that is. No matter how aggravating little things are, our core values are always the same, and this provides such stability and trust in a marriage.

  5. amyadair Says:

    You are so right. Find someone who will help you grow stronger. It seems like a lot of girls get involved with someone they can help. That’s find for a friend, but for a life partner you want someone you admire and challenges you to grow spiritually. Good points!

  6. shelia Says:

    my ideal mate, would love God with all his heart, soul, and mind, i would like to think everything else would flow out of his love for God

    i like what stephanie had to say about core values providing stability and trust

    i love and i am encouraged by the verse in the Bible that says “a man who finds a good woman, finds a good thing” (my emphasis), i think it is in proverbs, forgive me for not knowing the exact verse

    that verse makes me think, if a man is looking what should i be doing, i think i need to be preparing myself if God chooses to bless me with a husband

    i would love to read what others think about preparing oneself for marriage/husband

    thanks for responding

  7. debbie p Says:

    Sheila… 17 years ago, I faced a new world as a divorced woman with an 8 year old child. I definitely had not chosen well or prepared myself for the man I dreamed of. I had married a man that was not what I thought he was and was distraught when all my dreams were crushed. But then, I didn’t really know God or His love. It took a divorce to teach me those things!

    Our God IS love and He longs to give you the man that is best for you. That has been his plan from the beginning with Adam & Eve. While you are waiting for the man that loves God with all his heart, soul and mind, you will be blessed if you spend your time seeking God with all your heart, soul and mind. That way, when God’s timing is right for both of you, he will see God in you and be drawn to you. Maya Angelou writes: “A woman’s heart should be so hidden in God that a man has to seek Him just to find her. ”

    It has taken me many years to admit that I long to trust a man with my heart. But now, I know that my heart is in God and the man that is God’s best for me will bless my life far beyond my dreams. And our union will bring God glory.

    “But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well”. Mt 6:33

    May God bless your journey!

  8. Amy Says:

    Debbie, Thanks for your beautiful thoughts. We love and miss you, Amy


Leave a Reply

