In His Image

Sisters sharing the journey

Mini Resolutions January 5, 2009

Filed under: Current events — Amy @ 05:29
Tags:

vlrg_couchpotatoResolutions can be so short-lived in my life that I have an aversion to making them.  Failure is just around the corner.  Last year I made a resolution for the month of January, then February, etc.  It was much more effective for me.  Here are my resolutions for January:

  1. Read the Psalms
  2. Lose 5 pounds
  3. Exercise 5 days/week

February will look something like this:

  1. Read another book of the Bible
  2. Keep those 5 pounds off
  3. Continue exercising 5 days/week

Do you make resolutions each year?  What has worked for you?

Picture from Kim Carney / MSNBC.com

 

4 Responses to “Mini Resolutions”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I do make resolutions, but like you, mine have changed from the types I made when I was younger. And I seem to be better at keeping them too.

    I think that I’m more successful at keeping them because of those changes. I know myself better and the changes in my resolutions reflect that–they are more manageable and less grandiose, more meaningful. and less frivilous. I’d like to think, too, that they reflect a little wisdom gained through the years, but maybe that’s wishful thinking?

  2. Tracy Says:

    Thanks for that idea, Amy! In recent years I’ve given up on a New Year’s resolution because I always “fail.” This year I made a short one: to keep up with my laundry better and to read my bible through. We’ll see. Mini resolutions sound like a more achievable idea to me.

  3. amyadair Says:

    Good luck with your resolutions! I also can’t bring myself to start on Jan. 1. It’s some kind of fear and rebellious attitude all wrapped up together! I would rather catch up or be way ahead by Jan. 1. All in an effort to not fail again. We are complicated creatures, huh?!

  4. Stephanie Says:

    I read a column just the other day that said we don’t need to make resolutions, we need to decide what needs to be done and then be resolute and just do it. The author claimed that a “resolution” is something we try to do, hope to do, wish we could do . . . It gives us wiggle room. But being resolute means that we become the type of person who actually gets things done.

    Sounds good in theory. 🙂


Leave a Reply

