In His Image

Sisters sharing the journey

A Corner of the Roof January 12, 2009

Filed under: relationships,Scripture — Amy @ 05:06
Tags: ,

newroof“It is better to live on a corner of  the roof than share a house with a quarrelsome wife.” Proverbs 21:9  I do not want my husband to be better off on the roof than in the house with me.   I can control my words.  I can keep from nagging and arguing.  There are so many times when I don’t know what to do.  I don’t know how to best raise my children or how to use my time or even what to have for dinner.  But I can keep from nagging.  I can keep from turning conversations into arguments.  It’s not easy, but it is entirely within my control.  “When words are many, sin is not absent, but he who holds his tongue is wise.” Proverbs 10:10  

Dear Lord, Please bless us with wisdom.  Bless each of us with a spirit that is gentle and quiet.

Where is the better place for your husband…..a corner of your roof or inside your house?

 

5 Responses to “A Corner of the Roof”

  1. dana Says:

    Ouch! When did you come take this picture of my roof? I can think of many times my husband would have preferred the
    corner of our roof. This is something I have been working
    on since my favorite son in law (REALLY) mentioned to K
    that this problem was one he didn’t want her to inherit
    from me. OUCH again. Sometimes I would joking say that
    I was just trying to keep him on his toes. I knew from Prov.
    10:10 that God tells us to control our tongue, but didn’t
    think he was talking to me (you know, always someone
    else’s sin). Thank you for Prov. 21:9. I love my husband and
    want him to be happy IN our house, not on our roof.

  2. Holding our tongue is very hard to do. I like what Floyd said in class one day, It is better to be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt!” I think that we have to control the way we ‘give looks’ etc… But when we do keep silent and keep from nagging it is so very worth it!

  3. Stephanie E. Says:

    This topic is not just a “woman” thing; it’s a “Christian” thing. No one enjoys being nagged, no matter who’s doing it–husband, wife, parent, boss, friend, etc.

  4. Laura Says:

    I agree with Dana…. Ouch! I’m very guilty of pushing my husband to the roof at many times and that’s really bad since he definitely does not like being on a roof! Thanks for the reminder and today I resolve to strive make it so that my husband always wants to be inside rather than on the roof.

  5. courtney Says:

    Amy, first of all, I just love listening to you talk. You are so inspiring! I think not nagging is something we have to practice, just like everything else we do. Titus tells us that even loving our husbands doesn’t come naturally sometimes , because God says we need to be trained to do it by the older women! I think the same thing applies to nagging. We have to practice doing it to get it right…


Leave a Reply

