In His Image

Sisters sharing the journey

My Curse January 30, 2009

Filed under: family — Amy @ 04:53
Tags: , , ,

0505_familycarThe other day as Meredith was heading out the door, I stopped her and reminded her to brush her hair. She confidently told me there would be one in the car. Of course…she would groom herself on the way to school.

I think my kids could live in the car. They can fix their hair, brush their teeth, read their Bibles, make a phone call, do their homework and probably eat a snack…. without leaving the car! Everything is there.

My family seems to think that my purse and my car serve the same function. They both end up as the catch-all for anything a child or teen doesn’t want to carry around or doesn’t need anymore.

For example, when gum is offered the resulting empty wrapper is dropped in the curse(car + purse = curse). If one needs a comb, just look around in the curse. It will be there. If your feet are hot and sweaty, take off those socks and drop them in the curse. They will be there the next time your toes are cold! Tired of the bracelet, hat, pencil, iPod? Leave it in the curse.

I understand. If someone borrows my car, they may as well borrow my purse. I may need that brush or extension cord that I keep in my car.

Do you have a curse? Anything interesting wind up there?

 

5 Responses to “My Curse”

  1. Stephanie E. Says:

    What’s scary is when your kids all leave home and you STILL have stuff in your “curse”! Then who do you blame it on?
    🙂

  2. Susie Peacock Says:

    Amy, I had to laugh reading the post after just this week having a rant about the car NOT being a storage room! Since we have moved to the great white north if there is a missing mitten, hat, boot, scarf, or even coat it is certainly in the curse. Along with frozen, half-empty bottles of water and soda that clunk around every curve. I learned one very cold January to NOT leave a 12-pack of cans in the back…..exploded Dr Pepper slush does not clean up easily!

  3. Amy Says:

    How funny! I was doing an experiment with a k class and had to first thaw the carefully measured water in the microwave.

    I miss you!

  4. Jill Davis Says:

    I’ve secretly always hoped I would be somewhere and they would play that “bring me” game with our purses. I know I would win! I confess I volunteered one time to drive some kids for a scavenger hunt and half the items they needed were in my car! We won!

  5. Amy Says:

    Jill, I love this story! What a competitor. Let’s Make A Deal?!


Leave a Reply

